Skip to content

United Power Announces 2024 Scholarship Recipients

More than $30,000 in scholarships were awarded
Stock image

BRIGHTON — United Power proudly announces its scholarship recipients for 2024. This year, the cooperative awarded more than $30,000 in scholarships to outstanding students in its service territory. The United Power Scholarship Committee selected 18 high school seniors based on grades, test scores, extracurricular activities, community involvement, and a written essay. Applications are made available on the cooperative’s website by December each year.

2024 scholarship recipients:

  • Harley Baas, Branson School Online, United Power Community College Scholarship, $1,000
  • Lucas Burela, Brighton High School, United Power Colorado College Scholarship, $2,000
  • Lilliana Ritter, Prairie View High School, United Power Technical Scholarship, $1,000
  • Rachael Schmidt, Frederick High School, United Power Colorado College Scholarship, $2,000
  • Giselle Sixtos, Fort Lupton High School, Lois Lesser Education Scholarship, $1,000
  • Alanna Snyder, Horizon High School, Bill Berens Memorial Scholarship, $1,000
  • Skylar Whalen, Mead High School, United Power Youth Leadership Scholarship, $1,500

Additionally, United Power dedicates a Bright Futures Scholarship to each high school within its service territory, provided students from those schools submit applications. This year, United Power distributed 11 scholarships for $2,000 each, including one “at-large” selection.

Bright Futures scholarships for 2024 were awarded to Cody Bydalek, Weld Central High School; Elizabeth Clement, Stargate Charter School; Sydney Dawson, Eagle Ridge Academy; Paige Gibbs, Fort Lupton High School; Josh Goodrich, Mead High School; Colt Lanaghen, Mountain Territory; Devyn Nabarrete, Erie High School; Joaquin Rodriguez, Riverdale Ridge High School; Paige Walker, Prairie View High School; Nicholas Aasmundstad-Williams, Frederick High School; and Owen Woodford, Brighton High School.

More information about United Power’s scholarships, including a video commemorating this year’s recipients, can be found on the co-op’s website.