Skip to content

Have your say: Proposed changes to county election districts

Census figures prompt new district boundaries
A voter casting a ballot.


Boulder County residents are invited to complete an online survey on proposed changes to the county’s three commissioners’ districts by Tuesday, June 20 at 12 p.m. Visit the redistricting website for maps and the survey. The survey can be completed in English or Spanish.

The boundary changes are required by state law because each commissioner district must be nearly equal in population (defined by law as within a 5% difference). The 2020 Census revealed a slight change in the distribution of Boulder County’s population, which means the district boundaries need to be changed.

According to the 2020 Census, District 1 currently has a population of 109,451, District 2 currently has a population of 108,067, and District 3 currently has a population of 113,602.

Through the online survey, residents can comment on three proposed options, which would more evenly distribute the county’s population between the three commissioner districts to ensure the difference in population size between the three districts is less than 5%.

The proposed changes only affect the commissioner districts and do not affect any other districts or precincts for other elected officials.

The Boulder County Commissioners will discuss the new boundary options at a public hearing at 11:30 a.m. on Thursday, June 22, 2023. In addition to the online the survey, public comment can be shared in person, online, or by phone during the public hearing. A registration link will be available in the commissioners’ Advance Agenda on Friday, June 9 or residents can register to comment in person on the day of the hearing.

All Voters May Vote for All Three Commissioners

The Board of County Commissioners is an elected board made up of three commissioners.

Boulder County Commissioners are elected “at-large”, which means that although they must reside in a specific district (District 1, District 2, or District 3), each voter in Boulder County may vote for all three commissioners. For example, if you are a voter residing in Longmont (District 2), you are eligible to vote for the commissioners in all three districts.

This also means that each commissioner represents the whole of Boulder County (not a specific district).

For any questions regarding redistricting, contact the Commissioners’ Office by email [email protected] or phone 303-441-3500.