This content was originally published by the Longmont Observer and is licensed under a Creative Commons license.
Boulder County Face Mask Announcement: Click Here.
Details of the Public Health Facial Covering Order are available at www.boco.org/covid-19. While fines and penalty’s can be assessed for not following a public health order, enforcement will rely on education and individual responsibility for the good of the community as a whole.
After approval of a Public Health “Facial Covering” Order by the Boulder County Board of Health over the weekend, beginning May 9, every person older than 12 years old will be required to wear a face covering when in public anywhere in Boulder County where social distancing of 6 feet cannot be maintained.
The order does include exceptions, including for people working alone in an office, anyone whose health would be negatively impacted by wearing a face covering, children aged 12 years and younger, and first responders under certain circumstances (CDPHE Order 20-26 requires first responders to wear Face Coverings).
Authority & Penalties
Authority from this order comes from Colorado Revised Statutes (“C.R.S.”) §§ 25-1-506, 508, 509, and 516. Penalties are outlined in Colorado Revised Statues C.R.S. §§ 25-1-114 and 25-1-516, including a fine of up to $5000 and imprisonment in the county jail for up to one year.
Concerns about others not wearing face coverings in public can:
- Call the Public Health Call Center at 720-776-0822 or
- Complete the online concern form
Boulder County Public Health staff will determine if there has been a violation of a public health order and will follow up with the business or work with law enforcement, if needed.